What Are The Infinity Stones? | Where Are They Now? 

The last Ten Years of the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) has been all about the Infinity Stones, everything has led to this moment where the heroes must make a last stand to stop the stones from falling to the wrong hands. 

We’ve all been hearing about the Infinity Stones for a long while now in the MCU and gotten to see almost all, but what are the Infinity Stones? Why are they so sorted after? And where are they now?. Knowing how powerful they really are will make you realize why the Mad Titan Thanos has been after them but Just incase you’re wondering who Thanos is, you can check him out right here and find out why he’s one of most powerful Villains.

What Are The Infinity Stones? 

The Infinity Stones were formerly referred to as the Soul gems and have been existing for a really long time. 

In Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol 1, the Collector explained that “Before creation itself, there were six singularities. Then the universe exploded into existence, and the remnants of these systems were forged into concentrated ingots. Infinity Stones. These stones, it seems, can only be brandished by beings of extraordinary strength” and whoever possess these six stones and wields their power using the Infinity Gauntlet will be unstoppable. 

They’ll be listed in accordance with their appearance in the MCU. The first stone on the list is the Space Stone. 

The Space Stone: 

The space stone was first introduced in Captain America: The First Avengers as the Tesseract which was in Red Skull’s possession. While Red Skull used it’s power to create super powered weapons, it wasn’t until Loki got a hold of it in Avengers 1 that we actually got to see its true power. The Space stone basically lets you open portals to anywhere you want to be at anytime in an instant.

RELATED  Extinction | PS4 Announcement Cinematic Trailer

 We later saw the Tesseract (space stone)  in Odin’s Vault in Thor Ragnarok and from the looks it, Loki got to it again as he can be seen with it in Avengers Infinity War first trailer and then later with Thanos in the Gauntlet.

The Reality Stone:

The Reality Stone also know as ‘Aether’ was first shown in Thor: The Dark World and has the ability to change matter into dark matter. Malekith, the villain of the movie planned on using its power to take the Universe back to darkness for him and his dark elves. The Aether has both its liquid form like we saw in the movie and its solid form when contained in a Stone which was then given to the Collector at the end of the movie for safe keeping after which he uttered the phrase “One down, five to go” ,referring to the six Infinity Stones. 

The Power Stone: 

Peter Quill discovered the existence of the Power Stone on the planet Morg in Guardians Of the Galaxy Vol 1. The stone gives the wielder the ability to destroy anything, even something as big as a planet. With such amazing power, its no mystery as to why the stone can’t be held for more than a few seconds with the bare hands which is why it requires a weapon (The Infinity Gauntlet of Ronan The Accuser’s Hammer) with which the user can use its power without being destroyed. 

The Power Stone was given to the Nova Corps at the end of GOTG Vol 1 for safe keeping but was later seen with Thanos in the Gauntlet in the Infinity War Trailer. We’ll have to wait till May 4th to find out how that happened. 

The Mind Stone:

RELATED  Who Is Thanos In The Vast Marvel Multiverse? 

The Mind stone was in Loki’s scepter in The Avengers which was given to him by Thanos. The wielder of the Mind stone can control a person’s mind and make them do their bidding as Loki demonstrated, with the only escape being a serious hit on the head. 

In Avengers: Age Of Ultron, the scepter was recovered by the Avengers and with the help of Tony Stark and Bruce Banner, Ultron was made. The stone was then implanted in the Android Vision which along with some other elements such as electricity from Thor’s hammer brought Vision to life and granted him super abilities as well. The Mind stone is currently still on Vision. 

The Time Stone:

The Eye of Agamotto currently houses the Time Stone which Doctor Strange wore around his neck in the movie. The stone gives the user the ability to manipulate time such as rewinding, fast-forwarding and creating time loops which Strange showed us in the movie when he confronted Dormammu. 

At the end of the movie, Strange returns the Eye with the Stone in it back to Kamar-Taj but we all know he got back to wearing it again.


                         And finally, 

The Soul Stone:

The Soul stone is currently the only stone which hasn’t been revealed yet in the MCU. There have been different theories in the past as to where the Stone might show up but so far, no luck. We’ll most likely get to see its appearance in Black Panther seeing as its the only movie left before Infinity War. 

In the comics, the Soul stone is so powerful that it gives the wielder power over all life in the universe. 


Your basic nerd

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *